WBBL 2021: Stats and predictions of who will win

2021 WBBL betting tips 2021 WBBL betting tips

When people think of about betting on Australian cricket, they probably think of betting on the Big Bash League. But there is another cricket tournament that takes place in the Land Down Under that is just as exciting for bettors, and this is betting on the Women's Big Bash League. The WBBL is one of the biggest events in women's cricket, and all of the action is taking place right now.

Let us take a look at what has been happening in this tournament so far as well as provide some WBBL online cricket betting advice that can help you do well .

History of the Women’s Big Bash League

In January 2014, Belinda Clark, a former Australian captain, announced that plans for a women's version of the Big Bash League were in the pipeline. In February the following year, Cricket Australia declared that the WBBL would starting 2015/16, with the same branded teams in the men's version of the competition.

The competition was originally played alongside the men’s competition, but the Women’s Big Bash League started to get so much attention that it was decided that it should have its own time slot. Nowadays, many tune in from all over to watch some of the best female cricketers show off their talent.

Current State of Play

At the time of writing, the Melbourne Renegades are sitting at the top of the table with seven wins from the ten games that they have played. There has also been a no result, so they currently have fifteen points to their name. Their nearest rivals are Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers, who are both on 11 points from the nine matches that they have played - they have both also had one no result.

To give you a full current state of affairs, we have decided to give you the full competition table below - we will update it regularly to make sure that it is up to date.

1Melbourne Renegades10721150.323
2Brisbane Heat9531110.438
3Perth Scorchers9531110.316
4Sydney Sixers843190.183
5Melbourne Stars104519-0.179
6Hobart Hurricanes113717-0.378
7Adelaide Strikers724150.044
8Sydney Thunder82515-0.631

Format of the Competition

Each team players 14 matches in the Group Stage, and the top four all qualify for the knockout stage of the tournament. There is a new format for the 2021 WBBL that sees the team that finishes top of the table qualify automatically for the final. The team that finishes second will qualify for the Challenger match, where they will meet the winner of an Eliminator match between the third placed and fourth place team.

2021 WBBL betting tips 2021 WBBL betting tips

Upcoming Fixtures and Who We Think Will Win

Below we have listed some of the upcoming fixtures and the team that we think will win each one. During the Indian Premier League and the T20 World Cup, we got many of our predictions correct, so you might want to pay attention to what we say below if you are thinking about doing a spot of Big Bash League betting.

Match 37: Sydney Sixers versus Brisbane Heat - Brisbane Heat to win

Match 38: Adelaide Strikers versus Sydney Thunder - Adelaide Strikers to win

Match 39: Melbourne Stars versus Perth Scorchers - Perth Scorchers to win

Match 40: Sydney Sixers versus Adelaide Strikers - Sydney Sixers to win

Match 41: Sydney Thunder versus Perth Scorchers - Perth Scorchers to win

Current Stats

The Golden Bat trophy was introduced during WBBL|07, and it is given to the player that has scored the most runs in the competition. The top-ranked player gets to wear a distinctive gold cap when they play instead of their franchise cap. In the table below, you can see the top five scorers in the WBBL so far.

PlayerTeamMatchesInningsRunsAverageHighest Score
Harmanpreet KaurMelbourne Renegades9930961.8073*
Jemimah RodriguesMelbourne Renegades9929336.6275*
Grace HarrisBrisbane Heat8828040.0075
Beth MooneyPerth Scorchers8827939.85101*
Sophie DevinePerth Scorchers8827234.00100

The Golden arm trophy was also introduced during WBBL|07, and it recognises the leading wicket taker in the competition, with the leader wearing a gold cap instead of their franchise's traditional cap. In the following table, you can see the leading wicket takers in the 2021/22 WBBL.

PlayerTeamMatchesInningsWicketssAverageBest Figures
Lilly MillsPerth Scorcherss881510.464/25
Jess JonassenBrisbane Heat881412.713/14
Kim GarthMelbourne Stars991314.533/11
Harmanpreet KaurMelbourne Renegades991218.833/22
Molly StranoHobart Hurricanes11101126.093/19

Who Do We Think Will Win the Title?

When you look at the odds that are on offer at the best betting sites for cricket for the eventual winner of the 2021/22 WBBL, you will see that the majority of them have the Melbourne Renegades as the favourites to go ahead and win the competition.

This is something that we cannot disagree with since they have been the best team in the tournament so far. Not only do they have the top two leading run scorers in the tournament, but they also have one of the best bowlers as well, so it is not much of a surprise to see them doing so well. We believe that they will top the group and qualify automatically for the final.

For some of the best outright odds for the WBBL, we recommend you take a look at Betway.