Betting on the Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy is an Indian first-class cricket tournament that gets its name from Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar, who was an Indian cricketer that played 12 test matches for England. The tournament usually takes place in August and September, but it is not unusual for it to take place later or earlier on in the year, depending on where the BCCI can fit in. If you want to learn more about this tournament, please keep on reading.

When was the First Duleep Trophy?

duleep trophy duleep trophy

The very first edition of the tournament took place during the 1961-62 cricket season. The fact that it is still alive and kicking nearly six decades later give a clear idea as to how successful this competition has been.

Below are some stats that we believe you will find very interesting

The highest winnings total ever scored was 868 runs. This happened on the 21st October 1987 and was scored by the North Zone against the West Zone. The lowest innings total ever scored was 48 runs. This happened during a match on the 30th September 1961 and, coincidentally, it was also scored by the North Zone. Wasim Jaffer holds the record for the most runs scored in the tournament. From 1997 to 2013, he placed thirty matches and scored 2545 runs at an average of 55.32. His highest score was 173* and he scored seven other centuries and 13 half-centuries. He also holds the record for most catches, with 41. Narendra Deepchand Hirwani currently holds the record for more wickets taken in the tournament. From 1987 to 2004, he took 126 wickets at an average of 34.12 and an economy of 2.99. Parthiv Ajay Patel has the most dismissals by a wicketkeeper in a series. In the 2005-06 edition, he played 3 matches and dismissed twenty batsmen (fifteen caught and five stumped).

"So, when you are watching Duleep Trophy matches with your family and friends, you can share this newfound knowledge with them."

What Teams Have Participated in This Tournament?

From the 1961-62 cricket season all the way up to the 2016-17 one, this tournament was hotly contested by the five geographical zones (East, South, North, West, and Central) of India. For the 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08 editions, a foreign guest team was invited to join, meaning that six teams competed in these tournaments. The guest teams that took part were England A, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe Cricket Union President's XI, Sri Lanka A and England Lions. From 2016-17 onwards, it has been contested by three teams known as India Red, India Blue, and India Green. When the five different zones were competing, the teams were made up of cricketers who played for the Ranji Trophy teams from that region. In the table below you can see which teams made up each region.

Zone Teams
North Delhi, Punjab, Services, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir
South Goa, Kerala, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
East Bengal, Orissa, Assam, Jharkhand, Tripura
West Gujarat, Mumbai, Baroda, Saurashtra, Maharashtra
Central Railways, Uttar Pradesh, Vidarbha, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh

What Format Does the Trophy Use?

From the 1961-62 edition to the 2014-15 one, the five zonal teams played against each other in knock-out cricket. This changed to a league format for the 1993-04 tournament. This format was deemed good enough until the 2008-09 competition, which adopted knock-out cricket once again. A new format was adopted in 2016-17 when the three teams involved played each other in a round-robin tournament, with the best two teams going through to the final.

Who Has Won the Cup Over the Years?

This competition has been running for nearly six decades. In the table below you will be able to see when each particular team won the tournament.

Team Years Won
North 972-74, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1987-88, 1990-91, 1991-92, 1992-93, 1993-94, 1994-95, 1999-2000, 2001-01, 2003-04, 2006-07, 2007-08
South 1965-66, 1966-67, 1967-68, 1970-71, 1974-75, 1975-76, 1984-85, 1986-87, 1989-90, 1995-96, 2010-11
East 2011-12, 2012-13
West 1961-62, 1962-63, 1964-65, 1968-69, 1969-70, 1972-73, 1976-77, 1977-78, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1985-86, 2001-02, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10
Central 1971-72, 1996-97, 1998-99, 2004-05, 2014-15
India Blue 2016-17, 2018-19
India Red 2017-18, 2019-20

*The 1963-64 edition was shared between the South Zone and the West Zone, the 1988-89 tournament was shared between the West Zone and North Zone, the 1997-98 edition was shared between the West Zone and Central Zone, and the 2013-14 edition was shared by the South Zone and the North Zone. The North and West Zones were the most successful teams in this tournament as they both won it 18 times. However, the North Zone should be declared the most successful based on the fact that they won 65.38% of the finals they participated in (the West Zone won 50%). The East Zone was the least successful as they only managed to be champions twice. Since the teams changed, India Blue and India Red have won it twice, while India Green have only made it to the finals once.

Visit Our Prognostics Zone for Some Great Tips

If you are after some great tips that can help improve your chances of winning when betting on Duleep Trophy matches, head on over to our prognostics page. Here you will find great tips that will see your winning percentage increase by a nice amount.