A Guide to All the Major Cricket Teams

The International Cricket Council, shortened to ICC, is the governing body that is in charge of everything to do with International cricket. They are the reason why online cricket betting exists for international cricket because there would be no international tournaments or series without them.

ICC Cricket RankingIf you are interested in knowing the rankings of a particular national team or who the top twenty batsman or bowlers are in each of the three formats, then this is definitely the place to be.
Members of the ICCOur page is bursting with all the information you need to know about the Associate members and Full Members of the ICC.

Brief History of the ICC

major cricket teams

On the 15th of June, 1909, the ICC was founded, but it was called the Imperial Cricket Conference at the time. England, Australia, and South Africa were the founding members and only those countries that were part of the commonwealth were allowed to join. In the year 1926, West Indies, India, and New Zealand joined the club, with Pakistan joining in 1953. In 1965, it became the International Cricket Conference, with countries not in the commonwealth finally being allowed to join. The same year, USA and Fiji became the first ever Associate Member countries. Sri Lanka were the next team to join when they were admitted in 1981. In 1989, the governing body was renamed to the International Cricket Council, with Zimbabwe joining the council in 1991. Bangladesh joined in 2000, while Afghanistan and Ireland were allowed to join in 2017.

How Many ICC Members Are There?

At this moment in time, the ICC is made up of 104 members. Twelve of these are Full ICC Members, while the remaining are Associate Members. Any nation can apply to become part of the council, and there is a very good chance that they will be accepted as the ICC are always looking for ways to increase the number of national cricket teams out there. However, they will only be promoted to Full Member status once they have proven their cricket skills at international competitions.

Domestic Indian Teams

Domestic cricket is also very popular in India. When we cannot follow our national heroes because there is no international cricket on, we keep ourselves thoroughly entertained by following our domestic heroes instead. In fact, many of us are just as passionate about our domestic teams as we are the national side. There are 34 domestic Indian teams that compete in a wide range of entertaining domestic cricket tournaments in India.