Betting on The Global T20 Canada

The Global T20 Canada, as the name suggests, is a Canadian T20 tournament that take places every summer depending on when Cricket Canada can best fit it in. For all the online cricket betting information about this cricket league that you could ever wish for, read on.

The best sites for Global T20 Betting

What is the Global T20 Canada?

global t20 canada betting

Cricket Canada, in May 2018, announced that the International Cricket Council (ICC) had agreed to their plans of starting the very first T20 competition in North America. They announced that the first edition would begin on the 28th of June and end on the 15th of July 2018.

The tournament was a success and many cricket betting sites took notice. The second Global T20 took place on the 25th July 2019 and finished on the 11th August.

Statistics for Global T20 Betting

On the 28th June 2018, the Toronto Nationals scored 231 runs from 19.2 overs, which is the best score this tournament has seen to date. Heinrich Klaasen scored 326 runs from 8 matches at an average of 65.20 during the 2019 edition. As a result, he sits at the top of the table when it comes to most runs scored in a single tournament. Sherfane Rutherford scored 134* from 66 balls on the 12th July, 2018. This is the highest individual score in the competition to date.

Chris Lynn hit 24 sixes in the 2019 competition. This is the most sixes hit by any player in a single Global T20 Canada tournament. Sheldon Cottrell picked up 16 wickets in the 2019 edition, putting him at the top of the table when it comes to most wickets taken in a single edition.

Which Teams Compete in The Global T20?

At the moment, six teams compete in this competition. The names of each team and their coaches can be seen below.

Franchise Team Coach
Brampton Wolves Phil Simmons
Edmonton Royals (Renamed to Surrey Jaguars in 2021) Stephen Fleming
Montreal Tigers Tom Moody
Toronto Nationals Geoff Lawson
Vancouver Knights Donnovan Miller
Winnipeg Hawks Lalchand Rajput

"The Cricket West Indies B Team played in the 2018 edition instead of the Brampton Wolves."

How are Players recruited for the Global T20?

The draft system is becoming more popular with T20 leagues and this is exactly what this competition uses. Therefore, those players who want to participate in this tournament need to register themselves so that they are added to the draft pool. Once the draft pool has been finalised, each team gets a chance to choose the players that they would like to have in their team. For this league, each squad must have 17 players, 5 should be registered with Cricket Canada, 4 should be from ICC Associate Members, and 1 needs to be registered with ICC Americas.

What Format Does Cricket Canada Favour?

All six teams are placed into one group and play four teams once and one team twice. The four teams that finish in the top four will advance to the play-offs stage. Here, the top two will play each other for a place in the final. The loser of the game will then play the winners of a match between the third and fourth-placed teams to see who else plays for the trophy.

Which Teams Have Won the Global T20 Cup?

The table below will show you what teams have won the two editions, how much they won by, and who they defeated in the final.

Winners Runners-up Margin of Victory
2018 - Vancouver Knights Cricket West Indies B Team 7 wickets
2019 - Winnipeg Hawks Vancouver Knights Match was tied. Winnipeg Hawks won the Super Over

Match Predictions for the Global T20

When you place a bet without knowing much about the tournament, the teams that are participating, or the players that are playing for each team, you will only be successful with your bets if Lady Luck decides to be your friend. Thankfully, you don’t have to rely on luck alone in your Global T20 betting if you catch our latest match prediction today. Our cricket predictions can go a long way to providing you with some strong advantage for this otherwise obscure cricket league.