Betting on the Caribbean Premier League

The Caribbean Premier League, also known as the CPLT20 or CPL, is a yearly T20 cricket tournament that was created by Cricket West Indies (CWI). The competition is contested between six franchise teams and takes place during the months of July, August, or September, depending on when the CWI can fit it in. All the useful information about this West Indies tournament is provided below.

CPL Prediction 2021 and Winner Odds

This is our Caribbean Premier League prediction and winner odds for CPLT20 2021. We predict that the Trinbago Knight Riders will win the CPL this year!

Outright Winner CPL Betting Odds* Bet
Trinbago Knight Riders 3.75
Barbados Royals 7.50
Jamaica Tallawahs 6.00
St Kitts and Nevis Patriots 3.75
Guyana Amazon Warriors 5.00
St Lucia Kings 9.00

*Odds from Unibet India as of June

The Best betting Sites for CPL Betting

When did the First CPL Take Place?

Caribbean premier league betting Caribbean premier league betting

The CWI first announced that there were planning a franchise T20 league for the Caribbean in September 2012. In December the same year, they announced that a deal had been struck with wealthy businessman Ajmal Khan and that the inaugural season of the CPL would take place the following year. Before the competition was held, the CWI held an auction so that wealthy businessmen had an equal opportunity to purchase the franchise teams that would take part in the competition. Once the teams were sold, there was then the small matter of allowing the new owners to purchase players to play for them. This was done using the same draft system that the Bangladesh Premier League and the Pakistan Super League use. All players that want to compete in the tournament are put into pools and each owner takes it in turns to select players that they want to play for them.

"Each team is allowed a squad with no more than 17 players - one of these players has to be an U19 West Indies player and an ICC Americas representative."

On the 13th September 2019, the Trinbago Knight Riders scored 267 runs from their 20 overs, which is the highest score that this competition has seen. They also hold the record for the lowest score, as they were bowled out for 52 runs in just 12.5 overs on the 3rd August, 2013. Chris Gayle has scored 2325 runs from 72 innings, making him the highest run-scorer in the competition. The highest individual score is 121*, which was scored by Andrew Russell on the 10th August, 2018. Shakib Al Hassan took 6 wickets for 6 runs on the 3rd August, 2013, which are the best bowling figures in one match. James Neesham conceded 68 runs from 4 overs on the 17th September, 2019. These are the worst bowling figures ever seen in a match.

Which Teams Compete in the CPL?

Six teams currently contest this tournament. All the important information about each team can be seen below.

Barbados Royals (previously Barbados Tridents)Kensington OvalDaniel VettoriJason HolderRajasthan Royals
Guyana Amazon WarriorsProvidence StadiumRayon GriffithNicholas PooranDr. Ranjisinghi Ramroop
Jamaica TallawahsCentral Broward Regional ParkFloyd ReiferRovman PowellKris Persuad
St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsWarner ParkSimon HelmotDwayne BravoWinning Willows LTD
Saint Lucia Kings (previously Saint Lucia Zouks)Darren Sammy StadiumAndy FlowerAndre FletcherPunjab Kings
Trinbago Knight RidersBrian Lara Cricket AcademyImran JanKieron PollardKolkata Knight Riders

Which Tournament Format is Used in The CPL?

The six teams are placed in one group and each team plays every other team twice. After each team has played ten games, the top four teams go through to play-off stage. Here, the team that finishes first plays the team that came second, with the victorious side heading straight to the final. The losing team then gets a second chance to reach the final by playing the winner of the match between the team that comes third and the team that comes forth.

How Much Does the Winning Team Get?

The table below shows how the prize money is split between the teams.

Position Prize Money ($)
Winners 600,000
Runners-up 450,000
3rd Place 250,000
4th place 250,000

CPL Betting: Which Teams Have Won The CPL the most?

This competition has has nine editions, and it has been won by six different teams. The teams that won each season, how much they won by, and who they beat is all displayed below.

SeasonWinnerRunner-upWinning Margin
2013Trinbago Knight RidersGuyana Amazon Warriors8 wickets
2014Trinbago Knight RidersSt Kitts & Nevis Patriots3 wickets
2015Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon Warriors9 wickets
2016Trinidad Knight RidersBarbados Tridents20 runs
2017Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon Warriors8 runs (D/L)
2018Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon Warriors7 wickets
2019Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon Warriors27 runs
2020Trinbago Knight RidersSt Lucia Zouks8 wickets
2021St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsSaint Lucia Kings3 wickets

The Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team, having won the competition four times out of nine. The Guyana Amazon Warriors are the unluckiest, having played in the final five times and lost in all of them. The table below gives a breakdown as to how each team has performed in each edition of this tournament.

W = Winners R = Runners-up DNP = Did Not Play

Barbados Tridents3rdWR5th5th6thW5th6th
Guyana Amazon WarriorsRR3rdR3rdRR3rd4th
Jamaica TallawahsW3rd4thW4th4th6th4th5th
St Kitts & Nevis PatriotsDNPDNP6th6thR5th5thRR
Saint Lucia Kings6th5th5th4th6th5th5thRR
Trinbago Knight Riders4th4thW3rdWW3rdW3rd

Caribbean Premier League Match Prediction

It is fun to bet on the Caribbean Premier League, but if you bet on a league or a team that you don’t know much about, then you are setting yourself up to lose some money. Let’s face it, nobody likes to lose money, so you can make sure that this doesn’t happen that often by paying close attention to the cricket predictions that will publish for the CPL.