Bangladesh Premier League Betting

The Bangladesh Premier League, or BPL for short, is a T20 tournament that was created by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). Seven teams compete in this tournament that usually occurs every year in November. It is fast becoming one of the most attended cricket tournaments in the world. All the information you could ever wish to know for successful online cricket betting in this competition can be found below.

The Best BPL Betting Sites

BPL 2021

The 2020-21 BPL season will be the eighth season of the Bangladesh Premier League. It is the highest level of professional Twenty20 cricket in Bangladesh. The 8th season is scheduled to start in early March 2021 and the final is expected to happen in April. The complete BPL 2021 schedule has not been confirmed yet by the BCB. Over the course of the competition 46 cricket matches will be played in the following venues in Bangladesh:

  • Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium, Dhaka
  • Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong
  • Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

Seven teams will compete in the league this year. The Chittagong Vikings will not take part in the 2021 season, so the remaining teams are the following:

  • Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon
  • Premier Bank Khulna Tigers
  • Rajshahi Royals
  • Rangpur Rangers
  • Chattogram Challengers
  • Cumilla Warriors
  • Sylhet Thunder

When Was the Inaugural Bangladesh Premier League?

BPL betting

After the success of the Indian Premier League, the BCB wanted a piece of the action, so they established a six-year deal with the Game on Sports Group so that they could create their own T20 franchise competition. The inaugural BPL was scheduled to place in 2012, and, before it did, the BCB held an auction to allow companies the chance to buy the rights to a franchise. Whereas the IPL uses an auction to allow owners to fill their squad, the BPL makes use of the draft system (like the Pakistan Super League) . This means that each team takes it in turn to select the players they want to have on their team. Each team can only have a maximum of 18 players, and only 5 of those are allowed to be overseas players.

Which Teams compete in the BPL?

Seven teams compete in this tournament and you can find all the information you need to know about them below.

Chattogram ChallengersChittagongMahmudullahPaul NixonNone
Cumilla WarriorsComillaSoumya SarkarOttis GibsonLegends Sporting Limited, Nafisa Kamal, Mustafa Kamal
Dhaka PlatoonDhakaMashrafe MortazaMohammad SalahuddinBEXIMCO, Salman F Rahman, Shayan F Rahman
Khulna TigersKhulnaMushfiqur RahimJames FosterGemcon Group
Rajshahi RoyalsRajshahiAndre RusselOwais ShahMango Entertainment
Rangpur RangersRangpurShane WatsonMark O'DonnellSafwan Sobhan, Ahmed Akbar Sobhan, Bashundhara Group
Sylhet ThunderSylhetAndre FletcherHerschelle GibbsShahed Muhith, Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, Sylhet Sports Limited

What Format Does This Premier League Use?

Since the first edition in 2012, all seven teams have been put into one group and play each other twice. After all the group games have been played, the top four teams will go through to the play-off stage of the tournament. Here, the teams that finish as the top two play each other, with the winner qualifying for the final. The third and fourth placed teams will then play each other, and the winner will play the loser of the first match to see who else will contest the final.

What is the Prize Money of the BPL?

This is how the prize money is dished out in the BPL.

PositionPrize Money ($)
Winners 700,000
Runners-up 350,000
3rd Place 150,000
4th place 100,000

"Those players that win individual awards such as leading wicket taker and leading run scorer will pick up $50,000."

Previous BPL Champions

This tournament has taken place seven times and there have been five different winners. The information you are looking for regarding the tournament’s winners can be seen below.

SeasonWinnerRunner-upWinning Margin
2012Dhaka GladiatorsBarisal Burners8 wickets
2012/13Dhaka GladiatorsChittagong Kings43 runs
2015/16Comilla VictoriansBarisal Bulls3 wickets
2016/17Dhaka DynamitesRajshahi Kings56 runs
2017/18Rangpur RidersDhaka Dynamites57 runs
2018/19Comilla VictoriansDhaka Dynamites17 runs
2019/20Rajshahi RoyalsKhulna Tigers21 runs

* Barisal Bulls no longer compete in the tournament. They became defunct in 2017. If you are interested in seeing how each team how done in each edition, the table below will give you what you are looking for.

Chattogram Challengers5thR6th4th7th4th3rd
Cumilla WarriorsDNPDNPW6th3rdW5th
Dhaka PlatoonWW4thWRR4th
Khulna Tigers4th7thDNP3rd4th7thR
Rajshahi Royals3rd4thDNPR6th5thW
Rangpur RangersDNP5th3rd5thW3rd6th
Sylhet Thunder6th3rd5thDNP5th6th7th
Barisal BullsR5thR7thDNPDNPDNP

W = Winners R = Runners-up DNP = Did Not Play

Take a Look at Our Match Predictions

We all need a bit of luck when we are gambling, but there are also ways that you can increase your odds of winning. One such way is by taking a look at our provided match prediction today. If you check these cricket predictions regularly, we are certain that you will find yourself winning more than what you did when relying solely on luck!