Betting on the Deodhar Trophy

The Deodhar Trophy is a domestic BCCI Indian cricket competition that takes place over the space of fours days every year. The month that it takes place in varies greatly and depends on what else is happening in the cricket world at the time. For example, the 2017-18 edition took place between the 4th and 8th March 2018, while the 2018-19 tournament took place between the 23rd and the 27th of October. Keep on reading to find out everything you need to know about this tournament.

In What Year Did the First Deodhar Trophy Take Place?

deodhar trophy deodhar trophy

The very first edition of this tournament took place in 1973-74 and it has gone on to become a popular one-day tournament among Indian cricket fans. The competition itself is got its name from Prof. D. B. Deodhar, who was fondly known as "Grand Old Man of Indian Cricket". He lived to the ripe old age of 101, making him the only Indian cricketer known to have lived to this milestone.

Below you will find some interesting stats about this tournament:

Vinod Kambli holds the record for most runs scored in a single tournament. In the 1999-2000 competition, he scored 330 runs in 4 matches with an average of 110. This included two centuries and one fifty. Shreyas Iyer scored a magnificent 148 runs from just 114 balls in the 2018-19 tournament, making him the batsman with the highest ever score in the final. However, it wasn't enough to see his side to victory as they lost by 29 runs. Ajinkya Rahane held this record for a brief time as he scored 144* in the very same match. Sourav Ganguly, at the age of 18 years and 186 days, scored a century in the 1990-91 tournament, making him the youngest player to score a century in the final of the Deodhar Trophy.

"The next time you are watching a Deodhar Trophy match with your friends and family members, you can impress them by sharing these statistics with them."

What Teams Compete in the India Deodhar Trophy?

From the 1973-74 edition all the way to the 2014-15 one, five zonal teams participated in this tournament. These teams represented the north, south, east, west, and central zones of India. For the 2015-16 competition to the 2017-18 one, the zonal teams were dropped in favour of the Vijay Hazare winners and an India A and B team. From 2018-19, the winners of the Vijay Hazere Trophy were no longer invited to take part and an India C team was added instead.

What Format has been Used?

From 1972-74 right up until 2014-15, two of the zonal teams would play a quarter-final to determine who would be joining the other three teams in the semi-finals. The two teams that had to play a quarter-final first were the two that finished in the bottom two of the previous competition. For the 2015-16, 2016-17, and 2017-18 editions, the three teams played each other once, with the top two teams progressing to the final. This is the same format that was used in the 2018-19 competition.

When Did Each Team Lift The Cup?

The table below will give you a clear indication as to when each team were victorious in this competition. Team Years Won

Team Years Won
North 1977-78, 1986-87, 1987-88, 1989-90, 1995-96, 1997-98, 1999-2000, 2002-03, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2009-10, 2010-11
South 1974-75, 1978-79, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1991-92, 2001-02
East 1992-93, 1993-94, 1996-97, 2003-04, 2014-15
West 1975-76, 1979-80, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1984-85, 1985-86, 1990-91, 2006-07, 2008-09, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14
Central 1976-77, 1994-95, 1998-99, 2007-08
India A 2015-16
India B 2017-18
India C 2018-19
Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners Tamil Nadu - 2016-17

*The 2000-01 tournament was shared between the Central Zone and the South Zone. As you can see, the North and West zones won this competition twelve times each, making them the most successful teams when the competition contained five zones. The Central zone were the least successful, having only won the competition four times. Since the format changed from five teams to three, there have been four different winners.

Take a Close Look at our Deodhar Trophy Prognostics

Like with all the competitions that we talk about, we provide our readers with different prognostics for Deodhar Trophy matches. We highly recommend that you check these out if you are tempted to place some bets on future matches in this competition. All of the tips that you will find on this page will go a long way to making your bets more successful.