Are You Ready for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy this November?

Syed mushtaq ali trophy Syed mushtaq ali trophy

The 2021 T20 World Cup is in full swing and has given us some extremely entertaining matches to date, with plenty more to follow, of that we are certain. However, just because the T20 Cricket World Cup is on, it does not mean that cricket stops all over the world! Nope, there is plenty of other entertaining cricket happening in November in India, and one of these competitions is the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy!

When Will the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Take Place?

The Board of Control for Cricket in India have scheduled this tournament to take place from the 4th of November until the 22nd of November. However, due to the pandemic, do not be too surprised if a number of games end up getting postponed and the tournament lasts longer than scheduled.

There have already been four virus cases in the Mumbai team, meaning that Prashant Solanki, Sarfaraz Khan, Sairaj Patil, and Shams Mulani have had to withdraw from the tournament. Their replacements have already been found.

Where Will the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Take Place?

Due to the pandemic, the different groups will play their matches at different venues. Below is a list of where each group will play their matches.

  • Group A will play at Lucknow
  • Group B will play ay Guwahati
  • Group C will play at Baroda
  • Group D will play at Delhi
  • Group E will play at Haryana
  • The Plate Group will play at Vijayawada

Who Are the Reigning Champions?

Tamil Nadu are the reigning champions, having beaten Baroda by seven wickets in the 2020/21 final. This was their second title, and only three other teams have won it and these are Gujarat, Baroda, and Karnataka.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

Format of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

There will be 38 teams taking part in this competition from across India, and these teams will be divided into six different groups - there will be five Elite Groups with six teams in it, and a Plate Group with eight teams in it. The winners from each Elite Group will advance to the quarter-finals, while the runners-up from each Elite Group and the winner from the Plate Group will take part in pre-quarters, to see the other three teams that will take part in the quarter-finals. The knockout stages of this tournament will be played in Delhi.

Betting on the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Because its not a big international tournament, you will find that not every online bookmaker is covering this domestic cricket competition. However, you will find the best cricket betting sites listed on this page offering Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy betting. In particular, Pure Win India and Betway India who offer offer match odds for every game. So, not only can you entertain yourself by watching the brilliant cricket on show, you can increase the entertainment levels by placing bets on a variety of markets.

Some Great Players on Show at the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Obviously, most of India's best players are playing at the T20 World Cup, so will not be able to take part in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy this year. However, this does not mean that there will not be any quality players on show. For example, Ruturaj Gaikwad, who was amazing during the 2021 Indian Premier League and won the Orange Cap, (the cap given to the batsman that scores the most runs) will lead Maharashtra. Also, Sanju Samson who also had a pretty decent IPL tournament will captain Kerala, while Vijay Shankar will captain Tamil Nadu.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Records

We are going to end this article by taking a look at some Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy records.

Most consecutive wins: Karnataka with 14 wins in a row.

Most consecutive defeats: Jammu and Kashmir with 22 defeats in a row.

Largest margin of victory by runs: Delhi vs Gujarat - victory by 112 runs

Largest margin of victory by wickets: Jharkhand vs Tripura - victory by 10 wickets.

Largest margin of victory by balls: Jharkhand vs Tripura - victory by 100 balls.

Highest team score: 250/3 scored by Karnataka against Services in 2019.

Lowest team score: 30 scored by Tripura against Jharkhand in 2009.

Highest individual score: 165* scored by Narayan Jagadeesan for Tamil Nadu against Sikkim in 2019.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is sponsored by PayTM India, which is a recommended banking option for online cricket betting.