Who Are the Favourites for 2023 Indian Premier League?

2023-indian-premier-league 2023-indian-premier-league

The rights to broadcast the league were sold for a record sum of $6.1 billion, making the IPL the second most valuable tournament in the world.

Top 3 Cricket Betting Sites

The rights to broadcast the Indian Premier League from 2023 to 2027 were sold back in June 2022 - almost a year ahead of the 2023 edition of the competition. The amount demanded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is equal to ₹48,390 crores (or $6.1 billion). This deal made the Indian Premier League the second most expensive competition in the world after the NFL, overtaking even the English Premier League. What will the upcoming season bring us? Here is the information we have so far.

About the 2023 Indian Premier League

This year's edition of the Indian Premier League, also known as IPL 16 and Tata IPL 2023, will be the sixteenth season of the competition. It is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that was established in 2007 by the BCCI. The 2023 Indian Premier League will start on 1st April and will continue till 28th May. 74 matches will be played during this period, all of which will be held at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium.

Every year, 10 teams from 3 states and 7 cities participate in the competition. Here is a list of them:

  • Chennai Super Kings Squad
  • Delhi Capitals Squad
  • Gujarat Titans Squad
  • Kolkata Knight Riders Squad
  • Lucknow Super Giants Squad
  • Mumbai Indians Squad
  • Punjab Kings Squad
  • Rajasthan Royals Squad
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad

The 2023 IPL auction took place on 23rd December 2022 and a record was set. Sam Curran became the most expensive player in the history of these auctions who was bought by Punjab Kings for Rs 18.25 crore.

Meanwhile, the BCCI has introduced a new rule that will be effective for IPL 2023. Apart from the eleven players who will play a match, each team is allowed to take four more substitute or impact players. Any player in the XI position can be substituted for one of them during the game.

Last Year's Winner

IPL 2022 has brought many surprises to cricket fans. The current champion is Gujarat Titans Squad. It was an unexpected result, firstly because it was the team's first IPL season. Also, coach Gay Kirsten's reputation was not particularly good considering his poor record with Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers. The final was played on 29th May between Gujarat Titans and Rajasthan Royals from which Gujarat Titans emerged as champions and won IPL 2022 by 7 wickets.

Ipl latest Ipl latest


So, who are the favourites to grab the 2023 Indian Premier League title? Last year's champions? Or a team that has not won so far? In the table below, the statistics showing which team won how many times and in which years will be synthesized.

Team Wins Years
Rajasthan Royals 1 2008
Deccan Chargers 1 2009
Chennai Super Kings 4 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders 2 2012, 2014
Mumbai Indians 5 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Sunrisers Hyderabad 1 2016
Gujarat Titans 1 2022

According to the data from the table, four of the teams that will play this year have not won the championship title. Even though Gujarat Titans are the current champions, sports pundits don't think they will be able to retain their title. The favourite for the 2023 Indian Premier League is the four-time champions - Chennai Super Kings. The pundits make the case for their selection with their skillfully resourced dugout and expert team. Whether they will become five-time champions like the Mumbai Indians Squad, or a new star will rise on the scene remains to be seen.

You have several options for where to watch the 2023 Indian Premier League. Star Sports' TV rights have been renewed and Viacom18 holds the exclusive streaming rights. Also, starting this year, the IPL will be streamed in 4K resolution through the Jio cinema app.