Vijay Hazare Trophy Betting

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is a 50-over domestic cricket tournament in India involving the same teams that compete in the Ranji Trophy. It is one of the best opportunities for online cricket betting for domestic competitions.

The Best Sites for Betting on the Vijay Hazare Trophy

What is the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

Vijay Hazare Trophy Betting Vijay Hazare Trophy Betting

This competition was named after Vijay Hazare, an Indian cricketer that captained the national side between 1951 and 1953, leading India to their first ever test win, after twenty-five attempts. He famously bowled the legendary Sir Don Bradman out twice. In 2002 the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) declared that the very first Vijay Hazare Trophy would be taking place later that year. Since its inception, it has become a very popular competition in India and has even paved the way for talented cricketers to get selected for the national India cricket team.

Betting on the Vijay Hazare Trophy

Shahbaaz Nadeem, a left-arm spinner, took eight wickets for just ten runs when playing against Rajasthan. By doing this, he broke a twenty-year record that was set by Rahul Sanghvi in a match between Himachal Pradesh and Delhi.

Ajinkya Rahane holds the record for the highest individual score in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He scored 187 runs for Mumbai against Maharashtra during the 2007/08 season.

Karnataka opener Mayank Agarwal scored 723 runs in eight matches at an average of 90.37 in the 2017/18 Vijay Hazare Trophy. This was a tournament record, but, incredibly so, it still wasn't enough for him to be selected for the national side.

"Don’t forget to share the fun facts with your friends and family members! I’m sure they will be more than happy to learn some new cricket facts."

Which Teams compete the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

Twenty-seven teams compete in this domestic tournament. You can find all of these teams in the table below, alongside the stadium that they play in and its capacity.

Team Cricket Ground Capacity
Andhra Pradesh Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium 30,000
Assam ACA Stadium 40,000
Baroda Moti Bagh Stadium 18,000
Bengal Eden Gardens 66,349
Bihar Moin-ul-Haq Stadium 25,000
Delhi Feroz Zhah Kotla 55,000
Goa Dr. Rajendre Prasad Stadium 5,000
Gujarat Sardar Patel Stadium 110,000
Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium 25,000
Hyderabad Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium 55,000
Jammu and Kashmir Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium N/A
Jharkhand JSCA International Stadium Complex 39,000
Karnataka M. Chinnaswammy Stadium 40,000
Kerala Nehru Stadium 75,000
Madhya Pradesh Holkar Stadium 30,000
Maharashtra Maharashtra Cricket Association Cricket Stadium 34,000
Mumbai Wankhede Stadium 45,000
Odisha Barabati Stadium 45,000
Punjab Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium 28,000
Railways Karnail Singh Stadium N/A
Rajasthan Sawai Mansingh Stadium 30,000
Saurashtra Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium 28,000
Services Palam A Ground N/A
Tamil Nadu M.A Chidambaram Stadium 50,000
Tripura Narsingarh Cricket Ground 15,000
Uttar Pradesh Green Park Stadium 25,000
Vidarbha Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium 45,000

What is the Format of the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

From the 2002-03 season right up until the 2014-15 season, the twenty-seven teams were split into five different zonal groups. These can be seen in the table below:

Zone Teams Number of Teams
North Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, and Services Six
South Goa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, and Hyderabad Six
Central Railways, Vidarbha, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Madhya Pradesh Five
East Bengal, Assam, Bihar, Odisha, Jharkhand, Tripura Six
West Gujarat, Baroda, Mumbai, Maharashtra, and Saurashtra Five

Each team plays everyone once and the winners from each zone plus the best runner-up qualify directly for the quarter finals. The four other runners-up play against each other and the two winners join the other six teams in a knock-out tournament. For the 2015-16, 2016-17, and 2017-18 competitions, the zonal groups were dropped for four groups of seven teams. The top two teams in each group qualified for the knock-out stage. For the 2018-19 tournament, the teams were split into three elite groups and a plate group. Two of the elite groups had nine teams and the third one had ten. The plate group was made up of nine teams. The average points that a team amassed over the last three seasons determined what group they were placed in.

Which Teams Have Won This Cup?

Year Winner Runners-Up
2002-03 Tamil Nadu Punjab
2003-04 Mumbai Bengal
2004-05 Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh (shared)
2005-06 Railways Uttar Pradesh
2006-07 Mumbai Rajasthan
2007-08 Saurashtra Bengal
2008-09 Tamil Nadu Bengal
2009-10 Tamil Nadu Bengal
2010-11 Jharkhand Gujarat
2011-12 Bengal Mumbai
2012-13 Delhi Assam
2013-14 Karnataka Railways
2014-15 Karnataka Punjab
2015-16 Gujarat Delhi
2016-17 Tamil Nadu Bengal
2017-18 Karnataka Saurashtra
2018-19 Mumbai Delhi

So, as you can see, this table shows that Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the history of this competition. Bengal, on the other hand, are the unluckiest as they have appeared in the final five times and have only gone on to win it one time.

Match Predictions for Vijay Hazare Trophy Betting

We provide a Match Prediction for many matches in this tournament, so take the time to give them a read if you are thinking about placing some wagers on some matches that are taking place in it. The tips that we provide will definitely improve your odds of winning your bets.