Who Will Win the Pakistan Super League 2021?

The Pakistan Super League can be considered to be Pakistan's equivalent to the Indian Premier League. The PSL, which takes place in February and March every year, came into being in September 2015 and sees six teams (originally five) that represent the six cities of Pakistan battling it out to be crowned champions. Each team plays each other twice, and the top four teams compete for the right to be crowned Champions. The top two compete against each other for a place in the final, while third and fourth battle it out for the right to play the loser to earn a place in the final. There are plenty of online cricket betting options because, despite the worldwide pandemic, Pakistan Super League 2021 is still going ahead and has not been cancelled.

The Teams Competing in PSL 2021

The six teams that currently compete in the PSL are:

  • Islamabad United (winners in 2016 and 2018)
  • Karachi Kings (winners in 2020)
  • Multan Sultans
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Peshawar Zalmi (winners in 2017)
  • Quetta Gladiators (winners in 2019)

Pakistan Super League 2021

The sixth edition of the PSL (also called Pakistan Super League 2021) got underway on the 20th of February this year, with matches taking place in Karachi and Lahore. The matches are usually held at 4 venues across the country, but because of the current pandemic situation, the PCB decided that it was best to hold all the matches at the two aforementioned venues. On March the 1st, Islamabad United's Fawad Ahmed tested positive for Covid-19, which meant that their match against the Quetta Gladiators was postponed. Three days later, it was reported that another three players, including Tom Banton, had tested positive. On the same day, seven new cases from other teams were reported and the PCB declared that they were going to suspend the tournament, with just 14 of the 34 matches having been played. It was recently announced that the remaining PSL matches will take place in Karachi in June. The PCB decided that June was the best month to fit it in due to the fact the Pakistan national team has commitments in April, July, August, and September. The remaining twenty games will now be played before the Pakistan national team leave for England at the end of June to play 3 ODI games and 3 T20I games. Below is what the table looked like when the postponement was announced:

Position Team Played Won Lost NR Points NRR
1 Karachi Kings 5 3 2 0 6 0.697
2 Peshawar Zalmi 5 3 2 0 6 0.273
3 Islamabad United 4 3 1 0 6 0.202
4 Lahore Qalanders 4 3 1 0 6 0.085
5 Multan Sultans 5 1 4 0 2 -0.244
6 Quetta Gladiators 5 1 4 0 2 -0.936

If you would like to follow along by filling in your own points table, download our PSL 2021 Brackets sheet JPGPDF

Our PSL Predictions

Many believed that Quetta Gladiators had a chance of going deep into the tournament, but they will have to buck their ideas up quickly when the PSL returns, or they will not make it through to the play-offs. We fancied the Lahore Qalanders to lift the trophy before the tournament started and we have not changed our opinion on that. As you can see from the table above, they have only lost 1 game from 4 and have a game in hand over Karachi Kings and Peshawar Zalmi, who sit first and second in the table. Who do we reckon they will face in the final? This is a tough one to call, but we will opt for Karachi Kings. We are going to provide you with match predictions for some of the big games that are still to be played. So, if you want some useful tips that can help you with your cricket betting on the PSL, remember to visit us in June when it is due to restart.